[RESOLVED] Editing a rig after skinning

[RESOLVED] Editing a rig after skinning

Postby ruffstuff » 28 Apr 2010 19:42

Is there a way to "turn off" bones pro, edit the position of the bones in your rig, then turn back on bones pro and have it take on this new skeleton pose as the base?

In skin this was "Always Deform" in the advanced settings.
ruffstuff
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 06 Apr 2010 19:15

Re: Editing a rig after skinning

Postby Igor Posavec » 28 Apr 2010 23:33

Hello Fred,

BonesPro does not have this function, yet it is on the wish-list for the next minor update.
Meanwhile you can simply export the BPM of the body, delete BonesPro, readjust your bones and load the saved BPM back, it will to exactly what you asked for.
thanks
best regards
--
igor posavec
CEO, 3d-io games & video production GmbH
igor@3d-io.com
Igor Posavec
3d-io staff member
 
Posts: 710
Joined: 02 Oct 2008 14:25

Re: Editing a rig after skinning

Postby ruffstuff » 29 Apr 2010 00:50

Great to hear it's being added as a feature.
ruffstuff
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 06 Apr 2010 19:15

Re: Editing a rig after skinning

Postby sw00000p » 01 May 2010 16:37

OOH! That's nice! Never knew what the BMP files controlled. :D


Kind Regards,
sw00000p
sw00000p
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 18 Mar 2009 05:27

Re: [Feature Request] Editing a rig after skinning

Postby skinningNeophyte » 10 Jul 2011 17:12

Has this feature been added yet?

Thanks!
skinningNeophyte
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 01 Jul 2011 23:54

Re: [Feature Request] Editing a rig after skinning

Postby Igor Posavec » 11 Jul 2011 13:38

this feature is in the next release. At moment you can simply use the method i described above:
- open BOnesPro and go to propreties/Export, and export the BonesPro Setting
- delete BonesPro modifier
- rescale your bones
- add BOnesPro and to to properties/import the setting you have saved

it works perfect.
thanks
best regards
--
igor posavec
CEO, 3d-io games & video production GmbH
igor@3d-io.com
Igor Posavec
3d-io staff member
 
Posts: 710
Joined: 02 Oct 2008 14:25

Re: [Feature Request] Editing a rig after skinning

Postby skinningNeophyte » 20 Jul 2011 00:59

Yes, I was able to Save, change the rig (moved the collar bones down, which meant moving the arms, shortening the spines, etc.) and then import the BonePro skin.

When I do this, does BonesPro take into account that the skeleton's position has changed - and re-configure itself a bit - or is it using the weighting set up for the previous skeleton's configuration?

In other words, I can see that it works, but .. I'm interested in getting the best results.

Should I start over for the best results, or can I proceed with the saved skin and make changes to it, without any loss of quality?
skinningNeophyte
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 01 Jul 2011 23:54

Re: [Feature Request] Editing a rig after skinning

Postby Igor Posavec » 02 Oct 2014 14:02

--
igor posavec
CEO, 3d-io games & video production GmbH
igor@3d-io.com
Igor Posavec
3d-io staff member
 
Posts: 710
Joined: 02 Oct 2008 14:25


Return to BonesPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest