[RESOLVED] Error when starting 3dsmax

[RESOLVED] Error when starting 3dsmax

Postby jim_sam » 21 Jan 2009 03:25

After the plugin installation, I get a loading DLLs error when I start 3dsMax :

Failed to initialize. Error code 126- The secified module could not be found.

I have directX 10.

what's the problem ??
jim_sam
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Jan 2009 03:18

Re: Error when starting 3dsmax

Postby 3dio » 21 Jan 2009 11:42

In the following forum post:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=40

You'll find the following quote:
DirectX 10 and DirectX 9 are separate in Windows Vista. Just give a go to the Microsoft installer which we provide link to on the bottom of the downloads page.


Here's the link:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... 15D1D7199D

Kind Regards
3dio
3d-io staff member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 08 Sep 2008 16:31

Re: Error when starting 3dsmax

Postby Tlo » 07 Jul 2009 23:05

My OS is Vista.

I did install DirectX9 from the link http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en --directx_aug2008_redist.exe

However, I still get the " DLL<C:\Autodesk\sd Max 9\PlugIns\uvpacker_MAX9.dlm> failed to initialize. Error code 126- The secified module could not be found."

Any idea? My manager want me to make sure it works before we purchase this plugin.

Thansk!
Tlo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Jul 2009 22:51

Re: Error when starting 3dsmax

Postby Christian Kandler » 08 Jul 2009 13:13

Did you try to run the plug-in on another computer? Does it work there?


Try adding the standard c++ library from Microsoft. You can find it here:

If you are using the 32 bit version of Max:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... 9C36F85647

If you are using the 64 bit version of Max:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... a6d7bd44da

Please tell us if the problem persists even after adding this library.
Christian Kandler
3d-io staff member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 17 Sep 2008 18:26

Re: Error when starting 3dsmax

Postby Tlo » 08 Jul 2009 18:09

Thanks for the help but it didn't work...Same Error code... :( ( I even try to restart my computer after install the 32 bit version of the link you provide.

Here is my computer at work-
OS: Window Vista
Max9 32 bit (Release-9.o SP2 commerical)

Is the setting of garphic cards matter? I am running two graphic cards to support 4 monitors here( one PCI Express and one PCI).

I didn't try to install on other people's machine yet. I am hoping it will work on my machine so I can get my hand on it first.
Maybe I check with our IT here to see if my machine is the case.
Tlo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Jul 2009 22:51

Re: Error when starting 3dsmax

Postby Christian Kandler » 09 Jul 2009 12:53

That's a really strange case. Everything else you need should be there because 3ds Max also uses it.

You could use Microsoft's dependency walker http://www.dependencywalker.com to get a list of missing components.
Open the plug-in dlm (in your max plugins directory) in dependency walker and look in the list of modules (the marked area in the attached screenshot). Some of them should have a question mark and a red error text. If you click on the File Time Stamp label to sort them all entries with missing dll's will be nicely listed at the top. Not all of those are problematic. Those belonging to 3ds Max are always shown as missing here, this is normal. In your case there is probably something else missing that should be there. If I get a list of the dll's with question marks I will hopefully be able to tell you more.

Alternatively try it on another computer.

Your graphics cards are not an issue. As long as max runs with them it's ok.
Attachments
depends.png
depends.png (38.51 KiB) Viewed 60137 times
Christian Kandler
3d-io staff member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 17 Sep 2008 18:26

Re: Error when starting 3dsmax

Postby Tlo » 09 Jul 2009 18:59

I run the Dependency Walker and here is the missing list of the dll.
(Those with questin mark- with File time Stamp say :Error opining file. The system cannot find the file specifid(2)):

BMM.dll
Core.dll
D3Dx9_38.dll
Geom.dll
Maxutil.dll
Mesh.dll
Msvr80.dll
Paramblk2.dll
Gpsvc.dll

Again, Thanks for the help :)
Tlo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Jul 2009 22:51

Re: Error when starting 3dsmax

Postby Christian Kandler » 10 Jul 2009 07:34

Seems like DirectX9 didn't get installed correctly.
Does the file D3Dx9_38.dll exist anywhere on your system at all? If the installation went through it should be in c:\windows\system32\

Try downloading installing DirectX 9 again. Maybe the download got corrupted the first time or some other freak accident happened.
Christian Kandler
3d-io staff member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 17 Sep 2008 18:26

Re: Error when starting 3dsmax

Postby Tlo » 11 Jul 2009 00:18

Yes, the Directx9 didn't go through.
Our IT run DXSETUP.exe and it work! :D
Tlo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Jul 2009 22:51

Re: Error when starting 3dsmax

Postby Christian Kandler » 11 Jul 2009 21:52

One big circle around and back to the beginning. :)
Good that it's working now for you.
Christian Kandler
3d-io staff member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 17 Sep 2008 18:26

Next

Return to UV-Packer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron